Missy Elliott is the 1st hip-hop artist inducted into the Songwriters Hall of Fame


For nearly 50 years, the Hall of Fame and Composers has paid tribute to people who combine words and music. "CBS This Morning: Saturday" revealed the six artists in the 2019 promotion. One of them is Missy Elliott, the first hip – hop artist to be inducted.

The other five songwriters are Yusuf Islam, John Prine, Tom Hall T., Dallas Austin and Jack Tempchin.

In addition to becoming the first female hip-hop artist, the induction of Missy Elliott also makes her the third rapper to be part of the Songwriters Hall of Fame. The Grammy Award winning mistress has written for Beyoncé, Janet Jackson and Mary J. Blige, in addition to having her own influential solo career.

Born in Britain, Yusuf Islam, who became famous as Cat Stevens, was one of the most successful singer-songwriters of the 1970s when he published nine consecutive albums of his own. gold or platinum. Some of his most famous songs include "Wild World", "Peace Train" and "Father & Son".

John Prine joins the room with a catalog of songs recorded by Bette Midler, Johnny Cash and Bonnie Raitt. Prine said the writing "concerns a blank piece of paper and leaves out what is not supposed to be there."

In Kentucky, Tom T. Hall, nicknamed "The Storyteller," has written a dozen number 1 country hits like "Old Dogs, Children & Watermelon Wine," which Rolling Stone ranked among the top 100 country songs. But he is perhaps best known for the hit No. 1 that Jeannie C. Riley had with his song "Harper Valley P.T.A." in 1968.

"Austin", TLC's first hit No. 1, "Creep" in 1994. Austin also wrote hits for Boyz II Men, with Madonna in "Secret" and with Gwen Stefani in "Cool".

Jack Tempchin wrote his best-known song on the ground at a club in El Centro, California, scribbling the words on the back of a poster. Then, in 1972, the Eagles recorded "Peaceful Easy Feeling" on their first album. Tempchin would co-write more hits for the band, including "Somebody" and "You Belong To the City" with its leader Glenn Frey. Now, Tempchin belongs to the room.

© 2019 CBS Interactive Inc. All rights reserved.