Echesa and Joho witness the crowning achievement of school achievement while Kipchoge wins the Sports Personality Award of the Year

By Ernest Ndunda:


Saturday, January 12, 2019 at 17:23 GMT +3


Amboko Mukasa (left), head coach of the Kwale Girls High School football club, receives his trophy from Reuben Ndolo (right) after being named coach of the year in the schools category at the 15th SOYA Awards at Fort Jesus de Mombasa, January 12, 2019. [PHOTO BY GIDEON MAUNDU/STANDARD].

On Friday night, joyous and extended celebrations followed after Kwale Girls' High School won a hat-trick at the 2018 Soya Awards at the famous and historic Fort Jesus Museum in Mombasa.

Secretary of Cabinet Hillary Echesa, Mombasa Governor Hassan Joho, Safaricom Special Project Manager Joseph Ogutu and the world's top sprinter Marie Josee Ta Lou from Ivory Coast won three awards .

The Kwale Queens have been declared Women's School Team of the Year and have added two more trophies after their coach Mukasa Amboko, and captain Elizabeth Kioko, respectively winning in the school's coaching categories and the most outstanding players of the year.

"This is a great achievement for the Kwale Girls and we deserved all three trophies," said Amboko after the ceremony, adding that the recognition was a boost for morale as they prepared to defend the national title this year.
Marathon world record holder Eliud Kipchoge was named the 2018 Athlete of the Year at the 15th Soya Awards, held at Fort Jesus in Mombasa on January 11, 2019. Photo / Stafford Ondego / www

Another big win was won by the Kenya Secondary Schools Association, which dethroned last year's winner, Athletics Kenya, to win the Federation of the Year 2018 Award, presented by the president of the Peter Orero, and the secretary, David Ngugi.

KSSSA led the title defense campaign that allowed Kenyan teams to dominate regional games in Musanze, Rwanda, where they retained the overall title. The country's men's and women's football teams also won the gold medal at the Copa Coca Cola African Football Championship held in Nakuru, Kenya.

Get the latest news on the sport. Subscribe to our sports service by SMS by sending a "SPORTS" SMS to 22840.

They have also ensured that Kenya adheres to the African High School Athletic Association and the World Secondary School Sports Association, thus guaranteeing participation in international events starting in 2019. The association also renewed a five-year sponsorship contract for the Term One National Games and the East Africa Games. key partner Brookside Dairy Limited.

Laiser Hill won the Safaricom SOYA Boys' School of the Year Team. Laiser Hill was crowned 2018 basketball champion at the Term One national games held at Kangaru School, Embu, beating Sigalame beginners who finished seventh at the regional games. The 7-a-side rugby school team won the title at the national games held at Eldoret's School before winning the title of East Africa in Rwanda.

Marathon world record holder Eliud Kipchoge, who won the Sports Personality of the Year award, was happy to win the title. "It is with great emotion that I wish to thank everyone for this award," said Kipchoge.